Visa Assistance Letter (Latest Info)

Authors needing VISA Assistance letters can download them from EDAS

1.      Log into EDAS site, and find your paper.
2.      Toward the bottom of the page, you will find in the properties column the words “visa letter”
3.      Click on the image and you will be able to confirm or change your address information reflected in the letter.
4.      Then the system will generate the letter for your use.
5.      If you have any problems, please click the help tab in the EDAS system.

Types of Visa

The Malaysian Government issues Three (3) types of visas to foreign nationals:

1. Single Entry Visa

This is issued to foreign nationals who require a visa to enter Malaysia mainly for a social visit. It is normally valid for a single entry and for a period of three (3) months from the date of issue.

2. Multiple Entry Visa

This is issued to foreign nationals who require a visa to enter Malaysia mainly for business or government-to-government matters. It is normally valid for a period within three (3) months to twelve (12) months from the date of issue.Citizens of India and the People’s Republic of China who wish to enter Malaysia for the purpose of a Social Visit are eligible to apply for the Multiple Entry Visa.The validity of the Multiple Entry Visa is one (1) year. Each entry is for 30 days only and the extension of stay is not allowed.

Conditions for the Multiple Entry Visa are:

  1. The applicant must show proof of sufficient funds for staying in Malaysia
  2. The applicant must possess a valid and confirmed return ticket
  3. Tour groups are not eligible to apply for Multiple Entry Visa.
  4. The Multiple Entry Visa costs RM100.00 for Indian Citizens and RM30.00 for citizens of the People’s Republic of China.

3. Transit Visa

This is issued to foreign nationals who require a visa to enter Malaysia on transit to other countries. Foreign nationals on transit without leaving the airport premises and who continue their journey to the next destination with the same flight do not require a transit visa.

Visa Requirements by Countries

Commonwealth countries that require visa
– Bangladesh
– Cameroon*
– Ghana*
– Pakistan
– Nigeria*
– Mozambique*

The following countries require visa to enter Malaysia:

Afghanistan (Visa with reference) Colombia* India Pakistan
Angola* Congo Democratic Republic* Israel** Rwanda*
Bhutan Djibouti* Ivory Coast (Cote d’ivoire)* Serbia Montenegro
Bangladesh Equat. Guinea* Liberia* Sri Lanka
Burkina Faso* Eritrea* Myanmar United Nation (Laissez Passer)
Burundi* Ethiopia* Mozambique* Western Sahara*
Central African Republic* Guinea-Bissau* Nepal Yugosalavia
Cameroon* Ghana* Niger*
China Hong Kong (C.I/D.I) Nigeria*


  • For the countries marked as ( * ) are allowed to enter Malaysia by air only.
  • Israel citizen** who wish to enter are required Visa and approval from Ministry Of Home Affairs, Malaysia.
  • Visa is not required for a stay of less than one (1) month for ASEAN nationals except Myanmar.
  • Visas are required for duration of stay exceeds (1) month except for Brunei and Singapore nationals.
  • Further information on visa requirement can be obtained here

Yellow Fever Certificate

The following countries require yellow fever certificate upon landing in Malaysia.

Angola Ethiopia Senegal Benin
Gabon Sierra Leone Bolivia Gambia
South Africa Brazil Ghana Sri Lanka
Burkina Faso Guinea-Bissau St Kitts & Nevis Burundi
Kenya Suriname Cameroon Mali
Tanzania Central African Republic Niger Togo
Chad Nigeria Uganda Djibouti
Panama Venezuela Equador Peru
Zaire Guinea Rwanda Zambia
Eritrea Sao Tome & Principe

Visa Fees According to Countries

Countries Single/Multiple Entry Visa (RM) Transit Visa (RM)
Argentina 20.15 4.10
Bangladesh 20.00 20.00
Bhutan 20.00 20.00
Bolivia 11.00 11.00
Burma 19.50 6.60
Brazil 17.00 17.00
Bulgaria 21.90 11.00
Chile 24.50 24.50
Republic of China 30.00 30.00
Costa Rica 9.00 20.00
Czech & Slovak 19.30 8.20
Denmark 6.00
Dominican Republic 12.90 9.65
Ecuador 7.00 0.50
Finland 7.00
France 12.90
Haiti 16.00 6.00
Hungary 21.45 10.30
India 50.00 50.00
Indonesia 15.00 3.50
Israel 9.70 1.10
Italy 9.50
South Korea 30.00 15.00
Liberia 13.00 13.00
Mexico 17.50 17.50
Myanmar 20.00 20.00
Nepal 20.00 20.00
Panama 14.50 14.50
Pakistan 20.00 20.00
Peru 20.00 20.00
Poland 26.20 8.00
Portugal 6.50 6.50
Saudi Arabia 17.20 8.60
Sri Lanka 15.00 15.00
Sudan 12.90 4.30
United States of America 6.00 20.00
Uruguay 13.50 13.50
Venezuela 18.00 18.00
Vietnam 13.00 1.50
Countries which are not listed are to pay RM 20.00

How to apply for a Visa

Visa applications must be made at any nearest Malaysian Representative Office Abroad.
Applications can also be made online through eVisa System (Applicable for tourist from India and China only).

1. Application for a Visa Without Reference

Documents required for the application of a visa without reference (approval of visa is given by High Commission of Malaysia) are:

  1. Original passport
  2. Two (2) photocopies of the applicant’s passport
  3. Two (2) photocopies of the visa application form (Form IMM.47)
  4. Two (2) passport size photographs of the applicant
  5. Original and two (2) photocopies of the ticket (confirmed and returned ticket)
  6. Bank statement / traveller’s cheque
  7. Invitation letter (if any)
  8. Payment of visa fee

Note : Visa Without Reference is required for the purpose of a social visit.

2. Application for a Visa With Reference

Documents which are required for the application of a visa with reference (visa will issued after the application is being referred and approved by the Department of Immigration Malaysia / Other Agencies of Authority):

  1. Original approval letter from the Immigration Department of Malaysia/other authority agencies
  2. Original passport
  3. Two (2) photocopies of the applicant’s passport
  4. Two (2) photocopies of visa application form (Form IMM.47)
  5. Two (2) passport size photograph of applicant
  6. Original and two (2) photocopies of an air ticket
  7. Payment of visa fee

Note: Visa With Reference is required for students, those seeking employment, dependants and professionals on a visit pass.