

TAMPERE.

FINLAND
© LAURA VANZO

mmsp2020.org

September 21-23, 2020 | Virtually in Tampere, Finland

Enabling immersive audio-visual experiences for the benefit of people and industries

CALL FOR PAPERS

IEEE MMSP 2020 will be held on September 21–23, 2020. The workshop will be organized as a **fully virtual event**.

The workshop is 22nd in the series, organized by the Multimedia Signal Processing Technical Committee of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS), with the aim to bring together researchers and practitioners from academia and industry, passionate about multimedia signal processing, to share their knowledge, exchange ideas, explore future research directions and network.

Prospective authors are invited to submit regular and special session papers (full length, 4-6 pages) and demo papers (1 page). Conference content will be submitted for inclusion into IEEE Xplore as well as other Abstracting and Indexing (A&I) databases. Papers are solicited in, but not limited to, the following areas:

- Image / video analysis
- Image / video compression
- Image / video restoration and processing
- Machine listening for analysis of acoustic scenes
- Speech / music / audio processing
- Sound source localization and separation
- Multimedia communications and networking
- Multimedia quality assessment
- Internet of Things (IoT)-based multimedia systems and applications

- Multimedia hardware design
- Multimedia databases and digital libraries
- Multimedia security and forensics
- Multimedia interaction
- Multimedia big data analytics
- Deep Learning for Multimedia
- Multimedia processing for tele-medicine and health care
- Augmented, mixed and virtual reality
- Multimedia systems for emerging applications

Timeline

- Special Session/Workshop proposal submission 10 May, 2020
- Regular and Special Session paper submission 14 June, 2020
- Notification of paper acceptance 27 July, 2020
- Camera-ready paper submission 16 August, 2020
- Demo paper submission 23 August, 2020

General chairs

Atanas Gotchev, *Tampere University, Finland* Dong Tian, *InterDigital, USA*

Technical Programme Chairs

Annamaria Mesaros, *Tampere University, Finland*Mårten Sjöström, *Mid Sweden University, Sweden*Gene Cheung, *York University, Canada*Giacomo Boracchi, *Politecnico di Milano, Italy*

Keynote Chair

Christine Guillemot, INRIA, France

Special Sessions Chairs

Federica Battisti, *University Roma3, Italy* Patrick Le Callet, *University of Nantes, France*

Demo / Industrial Chair

Sebastian Schwarz, Nokia Technologies, Germany

Grand Challenges Chair

Jiaying Liu, Peking University, China

Publicity Chair

Pasi Pertilä, Tampere University, Finland

Finance Chair

Virve Larmila, *Tampere University, Finland*

Publication Chair

Joao Ascenso, University of Lisbon, Portugal

International Liaison Chair

Ricardo de Queiroz, University of Brazil, Brazil

Local Arrangements Chairs

Sarianne Niemelä, *Tampere University, Finland* Robert Bregovic, *Tampere University, Finland*

Awards Chairs

Jörn Ostermann, *University of Hannover, Germany* Pascal Frossard, *EPFL*, Switzerland

Advisory Committee Chair

Antonio Ortega, *University of Southern California, USA*



