Presentation Topics of Speakers

Speakers Presentation Topic
Ms. Yuanyuan Liu Updates on 3GPP & CTIA 5G mm-Wave key test cases
Dr. Huan-Chu Huang Commercialized and innovative mm-Wave AiP-based designs to smartphones
Mr. Su-Wei Chang 5G mm-Wave beamforming & new OTA technologies
Prof. Dau-Chyrh Chang
(IEEE Life Fellow)
CATR with multiple and movable focus for 5G OTA measurement

Owing to the 5G age, the mm-Wave (3GPP FR2) technologies and applications are getting more and more important and popular. Obviously, radiations of mm-Wave are quite crucial to the mm-Wave wireless communication performance. However, the mm-Wave radiation technologies and solutions, such as antennas, circuits, and measurements, are significantly different from those for the conventional 3GPP FR1 (i.e., non-mm-Wave) cellular bands. Therefore, the proposed industry forum will discuss, share and complement the technological understanding of and information updates on the latest studies, emerging development, and commercialized progress in mm-Wave radiation technologies and solutions from the industry perspectives.

Moderator and Panelist
Dr. Huan-Chu Huang received his Ph.D. degree from the institute of Communication Engineering at National Taiwan University (NTU), Taipei, Taiwan. Since 2005, he has worked for several global smartphone leading companies, such as HTC, Nokia, Huawei, Apple, and Vivo, all in the antenna design area for mobile devices. Currently, he is the Vice General Manager of Hardware R&D center for Mobile Phones at Baoneng Communication Technology, China. Up to now, he holds 67 international granted patents, publishes around 40 IEEE journal and conference papers, and is invited to deliver talks at IEEE conferences for more than 10 times. He also co-authored three whitepapers of “GTI sub-6 GHz 5G Device”, “5G Millimeter-Wave Technologies”, and “6G New Antenna Technologies”, and is the reviewer for IEEE Access, IEEE AWPL, MOTL, etc. His current main research interests involve mm-Wave antenna designs for cellular phones and reconfigurable antennas.


Ms. Yuanyuan Liu is a senior research fellow of China Academy of Information and Communications Technology. She received master’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications (BUPT) in 2008. Prior to joining China Academy of Information and Communications Technology (CAICT), she has more than 13 years of Industry experience working across companies like Intel, Infineon and Sony.
At Intel, Yuanyuan served as a senior RF architect and was involved in developing mobile chip products and providing specific solutions to customers. At Infineon and Sony, she was a member of the leading RF team, and making significant contributions to leading products of mobile terminal. She is currently leading the work for the construction of 5G millimeter wave test system of China Telecommunication Technology Labs (CTTL) and the tracking of relevant international and domestic industry standards.

Mr. Su-Wei Chang received the B.S. degree in EE from the Feng-Chia University, Taiwan, in 2005. He then worked in Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy & Astrophysics (ASIAA) as a mmWave receiver engineer, where he was involved in developing the mmWave and sub-mmWave receiver systems for radio telescopes. While working in ASIAA, he was leading and developing the 200-600 GHz receiver for Sub-Millimeter Array (SMA) and has been invited to Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. Later on, he received a master’s degree and is a Ph.D. candidate in the ECE at U. Mass-Amherst, US. His research interests include low noise, cryogenic circuit design, and applications, silicon-based MMIC up to mm-wave bands. He founded TMYTEK in 2014 and is currently the president. Su-Wei received the Young Scholars’ Creativity Award of Pan Wen Yuan Foundation in 2020.

Prof. Dau-Chyrh Chang, IEEE Life Fellow, obtained his BS degree and MS degree from Chung-Cheng Institute of Technology, and Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from University of Southern California. He spent 25 years in antenna R&D at CSIST. For 17 of these years, he served as director of antenna section. During his employment at CSIST, he developed reflector antennas, phased array antennas, slot array antennas, communication antennas, and various antenna test ranges. In 1998, he left his post as director of the antenna section to become Dean of the Engineering School at Da-Yeh University. He had been invited to be the Dean of College of Electrical and Communication Engineering at OIT (Oriental Institute of Technology) in 2006. He has been the Chair Professor and Director of CRC (Communication Research Center) at OIT from 2006 to 2016. He has been established four laboratories during executing various research programs, lab of hybrid antenna near field antenna test range, lab of TRP/TIS communication measurement system, lab of EMC, and lab of EM simulation, at CRC of OIT. Except for various kinds of antenna research, Prof. Chang is also focus on the research on SI (Signal Integrity) with the funding support from Lorom Group. Since August 1, 2016, he changes his career from OIT to Lorom Institute of New Products Research and Development, Lorom Group. Prof. Chang established the IEEE AP-S Taipei Chapter and as the first Chair in 2001, Chair of IEEE MTT-S Taipei Chapter and President of Chinese Microwave Association in 2000-2002. He has been the General Chair of CSTRWC2001, CSTRWC2008, ISAP2008, ICONIC2009, AEM2C2010, CSQRWC2012, PIERS2013, IEEE MTT-S IMWS-Bio 2015. He is the founding Chair of IEEE iWEM since 2011 and General Chair or Co-General Chair of IEEE iWEM. He received many excellent research awards when he was at CSIST, DYU, and OIT. He has published over 400 papers at technical journals and technical conferences. Except for the technical papers, he also has more than 20 patents. He is the Emeritus Chair Professor at Oriental Institute of Technology and Chief Scientist of Atenlab Cooperation in Taiwan.