Keynote Speaker

PhD. Tom Coughlin

2024 IEEE President

Tom Coughlin, President, Coughlin Associates is a digital storage analyst and business and technology consultant. He has more than 40 years in the data storage industry with engineering and senior management positions at several companies.

An IEEE Life Fellow, Dr. Coughlin has many publications and six patents. He is also the author of Digital Storage in Consumer Electronics: The Essential Guide, which is now in its second edition with Springer. Tom is a regular storage and memory contributor for and media and entertainment organizations. Coughlin Associates consults and publishes books and market and technology reports, including The Media and Entertainment Storage Report and an Emerging Memory Report, and puts on digital storage-oriented events.

Tom has served in numerous IEEE volunteer leadership roles, including President of IEEE-USA, Director of IEEE Region 6, Vice President and Board member of the IEEE Consumer Technology Society,  Chair of the Santa Clara Valley IEEE Section, and Chair of the Consultants Network of Silicon Valley. He is also active with the Storage Networking Industry Association (SNIA) and the Society of Motion Pictures and Television Engineers (SMPTE).

Falko Dressler is full professor and Chair for Telecommunication Networks at the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer ScienceTU Berlin. He received his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from the Dept. of Computer ScienceUniversity of Erlangen in 1998 and 2003, respectively.

Dr. Dressler has been associate editor-in-chief for IEEE Trans. on Network Science and EngineeringIEEE Trans. on Mobile Computing and Elsevier Computer Communications as well as an editor for journals such as IEEE/ACM Trans. on NetworkingElsevier Ad Hoc Networks, and Elsevier Nano Communication Networks. He has been chairing conferences such as IEEE INFOCOMACM MobiSysACM MobiHocIEEE VNCIEEE GLOBECOM. He authored the textbooks Self-Organization in Sensor and Actor Networks published by Wiley & Sons and Vehicular Networking published by Cambridge University Press. He has been an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer as well as an ACM Distinguished Speaker.

Dr. Dressler is an IEEE Fellow as well as an ACM Distinguished Member. He is a member of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech). He has been serving on the IEEE COMSOC Conference Council and the ACM SIGMOBILE Executive Committee. His research objectives include next generation wireless communication systems in combination with distributed algorithms for applications in the Internet of Things, and Cyber-Physical Systems, and the Internet of Bio-Nano-Things.

More information:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Falko Dressler

Technische Universitat Berlin

PhD. Farnoosh Rahmatian

NuGrid Power Corp

is a Senior Director of Measurement Devices at Quanta Technology. He has developed several techniques and devices for power system measurement, protection, and monitoring. Farnoosh was a co-founder of NxtPhase Corporation, developing and deploying innovative environmentally-friendly optical sensor technologies for accurate measurement of voltage and current in high-voltage AC and DC systems. Farnoosh has developed a number of advanced applications for protection and monitoring of the electric power grid and HV substation equipment using novel sensor technologies. He has traveled extensively and worked with a number of senior utility engineers and managers in more than 30 countries and 45 states.

Dr. Rahmatian has contributed to a number of IEEE, IEC, CIGRE, and CSA standards, guides, tutorials, and reports. Currently, he is the vice chair of IEEE/PES Power Systems Instrumentation and Measurement (PSIM) Committee, the chair of the IEEE working group on optical instrument transformers, a member of IEC working group on electronic instrument transformers, the secretary of CIGRE working group A3.15 working on non-conventional instrument transformers, a member of Systems Protection Subcommittee (C) of IEEE-PES-PSRC, and active in Performance and Standards Task Team (PSTT) of the North American Synchro Phasor Initiative (NASPI).

Dr. Rahmatian is a Senior Member of IEEE, has published over 50 articles in technical journals and conference proceedings, and holds 11 US patents. Farnoosh has received a number of awards, including an R&D 100 Award for the NXVCT Optical Voltage and Current Sensor, judged to be among the 100 most technologically significant new products of the year in 2002. Dr. Rahmatian’s focus at Quanta Technology is on phasor measurement devices and systems as well as on-site energized testing of high-voltage substation equipment.

More information:

Ignacio Castillo has been working for 28 years in telecommunications and computer industry and academia in 115 national and international projects, as team member or leader on technical and management positions in internet networks, data centers and engineering management.

In industry he worked for DICI, IFE, REDUNO-TELMEX and DATACENTER DYNAMICS, being now an independent consultant.

In academia he is full-time professor-researcher at Autonomous University of Mexico City (UACM) as Head of the Advanced Networking Laboratory. He was full time at UPAEP and UTM, and he was visiting professor or p time at UPS Ecuador, UDEFA (Military), UAM and BUAP. He wrote 4 books, and 50 journal and conference papers. He has lectured 142 undergraduate & graduate courses. His ADVNETLAB team developed the software UTILCON. He received 20 international and national awards and distinctions, He was, he offered 186 keynotes, invited talks and webinars, and 19 tutorials for conferences.


Ignacio Castillo is an IEEE Senior Member, he has served for the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors and IEEE Computer Society Distinguished Lecturer, also for IEEE Communications Society and IEEE R9, nowadays he is IEEE R9 Director Elect. He received his bachelor’s degree in sciences degree in Electronic Sciences and his M.Sc. Degree in Electronic Devices, both from the B. Autonomous University of Puebla, Mexico. Ignacio Castillo Velazquez

Autonomous University of Mexico City Mexico
Contact us

Paraninfo Universitario UNSAAC (Mantas 117, Cusco 08002)
Cusco - Perú