Invited Speaker 1

“Indoor and outdoor 300-GHz-band wireless propagation experiments for beyond 5G application”
by Prof. Akihiko Hirata (Chiba Institute of Technology, Japan)

Akihiko Hirata received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in chemistry and Dr. Eng. degree in electrical and electronics engineering from Tokyo University, Tokyo, Japan, in 1992, 1994, and 2007, respectively. He joined Atsugi Electrical Communications Laboratories of Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation in Kanagawa, Japan, in 1994. Since 2016, he has been a professor at the Chiba Institute of Technology. His current research involves millimeter-wave antennas and ultra-broadband terahertz wireless systems. He was awarded the 2008 Maejima Award presented by the Post and Telecom Association of Japan, 2009 Radio Achievement Award presented by the Association of Radio Industries and Businesses, 2010 Foundation Award presented by the Hoso Bunka Foundation, and 2011 Commendation for Science and Technology from the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology.

Invited Speaker 2

“Design of high gain antenna applications by using 2×1 array Integrated with Fabry-Perot Cavity”
by Prof. Wen-Shan Chen (Southern Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan)

Wen-Shan Chen received his BS degree from National Taiwan University of Science and Technology (Taiwan Tech), Taipei, Taiwan, and his PhD degree from National Sun Yat-Sen University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan in 2001. He is currently a Professor with the Department of Electronic Engineering at Southern Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Tainan, Taiwan. He is an IEEE Senior Member with AP, MTT and EMC Societies. He served as the General Secretary in 2007-2008, Vice Chair in 2009-1010, and Chair in 2011-2012, all with the IEEE AP-S Tainan Chapter. He is also a Consultant of IEEE AP-S Tainan Chapter. He is a member of the Institute of Antenna Engineers of Taiwan (IAET) and was elected to be an AdCom member of IAET in 2008-2020. He is a member of the Taiwan Microwave Association (TMA, formly called CMA). He is a member of the TIEEE, Chinese Institute of Electrical Engineering (CIEE), and IEICE. His research interests include antenna design, RF and microwave circuits.