IEEE Symposium on Multi-agent System Coordination and Optimization (IEEE MASCO)

During the past decades, there has been extensive study in the coordination and optimization of multi-agent systems both in theoretical aspect and practical applications. The motivation is that the coordination among related systems may result in higher performance, more efficiency and lower costs compared with the case that single system/control is involved. Applications can be found in areas include multi-robot systems, cyber-physical systems, transportation systems, sensor networks, smart grids, IT systems, factory automation, biological systems and so on. Distributed coordination and optimization have attracted particular attentions since they can be implemented without relying on central computing and extensive communication among the agents. Thus, designing effective distributed coordination strategies and optimization algorithms for various multi-agent systems both poses significant challenges as well as provides abundant research opportunities.

The IEEE MASCO is aimed at presenting some new/recent developments in the area of multi-agent system coordination and optimization with both theory and applications. We host original papers on methods, analysis as well as applications of multi-agent coordination and optimization. In order to include wide variety of insights and ideas from various aspects, the organizers welcome related submissions to join the symposium.


  • Modeling, identification, and optimization of multi-agent systems
  • Consensus, flocking, and containment control of multi-agent systems
  • Robust distributed control methods
  • Distributed control subject to input saturation
  • Sampled-data and event-triggered distributed control
  • Distributed diagnosis and fault-tolerant control
  • Distributed optimization algorithms
  • Distributed optimization for Smart Grids
  • Coverage, searching and tracking of multi-robot systems
  • Distributed control of autonomous vehicle networks

Symposium Chairs

Kai Wu
Xidian University, China

Programme Committee

Lianghao Ji

Ana L. C. Bazzan

Camelia Chira

Howard M. Schwartz

Yingqian Zhang

Wim Nuijten

Yifan Hu

Yuezu Lv

Chaoxu Mu

Chengxin Xian

Wenle Zhang

Jianquan Lu

Howard Schwartz

Hao Xu

Ah-Hwee Tan

Pena Queralta

T. N. Gia

Qingqing Li

Z. Zou

Norikazu Takahashi

Yuanheng Zhu

Dongbin Zhao

Huaqing Li

J. Senthilnath

Michael Otte

Donald Sofge

David D. Fan

Evangelos A. Theodorou

John Reeder

Sabrina Senatore

Atulya K. Nagar

Anna Helena Reali Costa

Shariq Iqbal

Jianye Hao

Guangyong Chen