Some specific ideas from the above…
“The visitor can discover the permanent collections of the museum through four thematic tours (Archeologie, Fine Arts, Arts and Crafts, Coins and Medals). The museum offers an additional discovery tour leading across twelve stations throughout the collections – “Luxembourg for kids” – for children of 6 years and up who want to visit and explore the museum together with their family and to get an insight into the history of Luxembourg in a playful manner.”
“Also called “the most beautiful balcony of Europe” (according to the Luxembourg writer Batty Weber), it runs along the Alzette valley on the ramparts – built by the Spaniards and the French in the 17th century – from the Bock Promontory up to the lower part of the Holy Ghost Citadel, the so-called “Rondellen”.
Up to the year 1870, the Corniche had staircases in steep parts which were levelled off only after the dismantling of the fortress. Moreover, the greatest part of the protecting wall with its loopholes was cleared away so as to disclose a superb panorama on the valley of the Alzette, the city district of Grund and the Rham Plateau.”
“Belonging to the UNESCO World Heritage, the first underground tunnels were built in 1644, in the era of the Spanish domination. The 23-kilometre long galleries were enlarged only 40 years later by Vauban, the French military engineer and fortress builder, and in the eighteenth century by the Austrians. The subterranean defensive passages were placed on different levels and reached down as far as 40 metres. It is these impressive defence works that conferred Luxembourg the name of “Gibraltar of the North”.
After the dismantling of the fortress in 1867, 17 kilometres of the casemates were spared, left in good condition. Since 1933 the Bock and Pétrusse casemates have been open to the public. The fortress ramparts and the historically impressive Old Town enjoy international reputation: in 1994 UNESCO listed them as World Heritage.”
“In its function as the city residence of the Grand Ducal family, the grand ducal Palace is situated right in the core of the Old Town.
Formerly the first town hall of the city occupied the site of the present palace; destroyed by a gunpowder explosion (1554), the town hall was rebuilt 20 years later. In the middle of the 18th century the former City Scales were added as an extension, whereas the Parliament was built as an annex in 1859. Since 1890 the main building has served as the Grand Dukes’ official residence.
From 1992 to 1995 it was restored thoroughly. During the summer months, visitors can take a look behind the scenes of the grand ducal Palace.”