We are delighted to announce these Illustrious Spotlight Session Speakers have been confirmed for IEEE IUS 2019:

Spotlight Session Flow

Prof Jorgen Jensen

Jørgen Arendt Jensen is professor of Biomedical Imaging at the Department of Health Technology, Technical University of Denmark. He has conducted research within medical ultrasound since1985 and is the founder and head of Center for Fast Ultrasound Imaging in 1998. CFU has graduated more than 40 PhD students, and the group has contributed with the Field II simulation program, transverse oscillation vector flow in 2D and 3D, synthetic aperture flow imaging, the RASMUS and SARUS research scanner, dual stage beamforming as well as innovations in coded imaging, acoustic models, minimum variance beamforming, and row-column beamforming. JAJ has published more than 450 conference and journal papers and is a Fellow of the IEEE.

View Abstract: History and latest advances in flow estimation technology: From 1D in 2D to 3D in 4D

Dr Hagen Schmidt

Hagen Schmidt holds Diploma and Dr.-Ing. degrees in electrical engineering from Technische Universität Dresden, Germany. For several years he worked for electronic industry at Robert Bosch, Telefilter and Vectron International before he became group leader for Surface Dynamics at Leibniz Institute IFW Dresden. In 2013 he co-founded there the application center SAWLab Saxony. His current research interests include microacoustic devices like SAW- and BAW-based sensors and actuators, novel piezoelectric crystals and advanced thin film systems, especially with high-temperature/high-power capability and the design of new acoustoelectronic systems.

View Abstract: Third generation surface acoustic wave devices for active microfluidics

Dr Richard Nauber

Dr. Richard Nauber received a Diploma degree in mechatronics from the TU Dresden, Germany in 2010 and worked as embedded software developer for a renewable energy company afterwards. Since 2012 he is a research fellow with the laboratory for measurement and sensor system techniques, currently as head of the ultrasound metrology group. He received the Dr.-Ing. degree in  electrical Engineering from the TU Dresden, in 2018. His current research interests include the development and application of ultrasound-based imaging techniques with adaptive sound field, especially for in-process monitoring of hot melts.

View Abstract: Ultrasound Imaging in Hot Melts with Time Reversal Virtual Arrays

Spotlight Session Piezo

Prof Thomas Shrout

Dr. Thomas R. Shrout received his PhD. and B.S. in Ceramic Science at the Pennsylvania State University, where he currently holds the position of Professor Emeritus of Materials Science and Engineering.  His industrial experience includes R&D at Sprague Electric and AVX Corporation in the area of advanced multilayer ceramic capacitors.

Dr. Shrout is a Fellow of the American Ceramic Society.  Professional awards include the Electroceramic Bridge Building Award, 14th US-Japan Seminar on Dielectric and Piezoelectric Ceramics; Distinguished Lecturer, IEEE-UFFC; IKEDA Memorial Award in Ferroelectrics; Ferroelectrics Recognition Award of the IEEE-UFFC; and the Wilhelm R. Buessem Award from the Center for Dielectrics and Piezoelectrics.

Dr. Shrout’s research interests include the synthesis and characterization of electronic materials with an emphasis on process-property relations, and he is currently exploring enabling processing techniques for high frequency transducers for medical imaging.  Specific materials development includes Relaxor-PT ferroelectric single crystals and piezoelectrics for harsh environments.  His research has led to more than 500 publications and 25 U.S. patents.

View Abstract: High Performance Piezoelectric Ceramics and Crystals

Sergey Mishin

Sergey Mishin graduated with a Master of Physics from Russian National Research University of Electronic Technology (MIET) in 1986 with Highest Honors.

His main research interests include cold discharge, high density plasma, magnetron plasma, excimer laser systems and the application of plasma discharge and lasers in the semi-conductor industry.

He founded AMS, Inc. in 2000. AMS, Inc is responsible for developing the first production worthy cluster tool for high volume piezoelectric thin films. By its second year, AMS, Inc was presented with the Supplier of the Year Award by Agilent Technologies, Inc.

Since founding his company Sergey has been focused on the development of new equipment for the manufacture and treatment of piezoelectric thin films. As part of this research and development, he has had an opportunity to work closely with industry leaders and high-class research laboratories. He has also published numerous papers and holds patents on the deposition and trimming technologies used in FBAR/BAW/SAW and MEMS application.

View Abstract: Magnetron Deposition of AlN and ScAlN for Mass-production for BAW Devices and MEMS

Prof Takahiko Yanagitani

Takahiko Yanagitani was born in Kyoto, Japan, in November 1978. He received the Doctor of Engineering degree from Doshisha University, Kyoto, Japan, in 2006. He is currently an associate professor at Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan. His main fields of research interests are thin films, piezoelectric devices, and the measurements based on acousto-electric effects. He is a member of the IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium Physical Acoustics Technical Program Committee and International Workshop on Piezoelectric Materials and Applications in Actuators (IWPMA) Committee. He currently serves as an Editorial Board member of Scientific Reports (Nature publishing group). Dr. Yanagitani is an author of 12 papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control, and more than 95 presentations at the IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium.

View Abstract: ScAlN polarization inverted resonators and enhancement of kt2 in new YbAlN materials for BAW devices